Crews flock to Pirelli Carlisle Rally

Local star Peter Taylor and Andrew Roughead were the main winners as more than 100 crews took part in last Saturday’s Pirelli Carlisle Rally.

With stages based in nearby Kielder Forest, Smithfield driver Taylor took his Ford Fiesta S2400 to a National B Modern class victory and outright rally success in a time of 48m10.7s. Second in the modern class was reigning British Rally Champion Daniel McKenna and Andrew Grennan in a Citroen DS3 R3T Max, with the Ford Focus of Peter Stphenson/Ian Windress in third.

The bulk of the entry was made up of historic rally cars, with Nick Elliott/Dave Price (Ford Escort) claiming a National A class win by just 0.7.7s ahead of reigning BTRDA Silver Star champion Matthew Robinson and Sam Collis (Escort Mk2). Paul Barrett/Dai Roberts’ similar car was third.

In National B, Philip Burton/Mal Capstick scored a comfortable win over James Potter/Bob Duck (both Escorts), while the National B Land Rover category was won by Adam Woolner/Stacey Hadlum in their Wolf XD. The rally counted as a round of the British Historic Rally Championship and the West Wales RAC Rally Championship.

Pirelli’s Porsche racers ready for action

The opening two races in the Fuel Protect Porsche Club Championship with Pirelli take place at Brands Hatch on Saturday, with reigning title winner Pete Morris back in action.

Morris claimed the title last season in a Strasse-run 996 C2 and is back wearing the number one this season. Other leading 996 runners in Class One include Morris’s team-mate, ex-GT racer Craig Wilkins, and former champions Mark McAleer and John McCullagh, with the latter also contesting the Porsche Carrera Cup GB in his Hartech 996.

Also featuring in Class One will be the Porsche Boxster S of AFF-backed Jonathan Evans, with Gary Sullivan, Mark Cowne and series newcomer Nathalie McGloin in Caymans.

Class Two champion Stuart Ings returns in a 3.2-litre Boxster S, with former champion Chris Dyer, multiple class champion Ben Demetriou, Steve Cheetham and Jake McAleer also in Boxsters. John Gilmour heads up Class Three in 944 S2.

Bailey and Schulz lead Pirelli-shod GT Cup winners

Paul Bailey and Andy Schulz were double winners in round one of the Pirelli-supplied GT Cup Championship at Donington Park last weekend.

Bailey and Schulz took their TF Sport Aston Martin Vantage to success in the main GTO class in the opening two races at the Leicestershire track, with the JMH Automotive Ferrari 458 GT3 of Aaron Scott and Arwyn Williams on top in the final race.

“My race was really good but I was worried about the power of the Ferrari and Audi,” said Bailey after his race two success. “I decided to try and take the Ferrari when it still had cold tyres and luckily I managed it. Once they disappeared I dropped my lap times by two seconds a lap as the next car was far enough behind, so I just drove the car round and enjoyed myself, it was good.”

In GTC Wayne Marrs/Charlie Hollings (Ferrari 458 Challenge) were first in class and third overall in race one, with the Ferrari 458 GTC-FF Corse of John Seale/Jamie Stanley class winners and second overall in race two before scoring their second win of the weekend with fourth overall in race three.

Tom Webb (BMW M3 E46 GTR), Ross McEwen/Colin Paton (Porsche 997 GT3, fifth overall) and James Greenway/David Fairbrother (997 GT3) were all winners in the GTB category. In GTA the spoils went to Flick Haigh (Ginetta G55) and double winners Mick Mercer/Gary Smith (BMW M3 E46 GTR).

The next round of the GT Cup Championship is at Brands Hatch on May 9-10.

New MINIs make their mark with Pirelli

Rob Smith was a double winner in the new Generation 3 MINI F56 as the Power Maxed MINI Challenge – for which Pirelli is the tyre supplier – got underway at Donignton Park last weekend.

After setting pole for race one, Smith scored a narrow win over David Grady with race two victor Charlie Butler-Henderson in third. Smith had pole again for race two but had to settle for third behind the consistent Grady, while in the final race he rose from fifth to take his second win ahead of Butler-Henderson, with polesitter Ryan Rhode in third.

In each race the latest-generation 2.0-litre F56 showed its pace ahead of the older 1.6-litre turbocharged R56 JCW cars. In the Cooper Class, Ricky Page was a double winner after Nathan Harrison was victorious in the opener.

The next round of the Power MAXED MINI Challenge takes place at Brands Hatch on May 9-10.

Vernon proves unbeatable in Pirelli-backed F3 Cup

Newcomer Kieran Vernon was the big winner in round two of the Pirelli-supplied MSVR F3 Cup at Donington Park last weekend, with three victories from three races.

The 25-year-old Chris Dittmann Racing driver started his Dallara F307 Mercedes from pole in race one and dominated over 14 laps to win by 12.630s from Aaron Steele with team-mate Stuart Wiltshire in third – a top three that was then repeated in races two and three.

Daniel Tapinos was awarded the Sunoco Driver of the Weekend Award after showing consistent improvement over the meeting despite never having driven at Donington before.

The next round of the MSVR F3 Cup takes place at the Brands Hatch Indy Circuit on May 16-17.

Ferrari-Pirelli series on the small screen

Round one action from the Ferrari Challenge Trofeo Pirelli series will be broadcast in the UK next week.

Motors TV will show highlights from the popular one-make series’ opening round at Monza on Tuesday and Wednesday at 6.30pm. ‘Babalus’ was a double winner for the Autoropa team at Monza, while in the Coppa Shell division Jacques Duyver (Kessel Racing) and Erich Prinoth (Ineco-MP Racing) shared the spoils.

The next round of the Ferrari Challenge Trofeo Pirelli series will be at Mugello in Italy on May 8-10.

Coming up next time:

Porsche and F4 racing action; Scottish rallying from the Granite City.

For further media information please contact: Danny Bowles, PR Officer

Pirelli UK Tyres Ltd – +44 (0) 1283 525479 – PR Office – []