New Pirelli 17”DIABLO™ tyres again prove their performance as circuit record falls despite cool conditions

Shane Byrne took two more MCE British Superbike wins at Snetterton whilst his series rival Josh Brookes logged another lap record, again showing the pace of the 17” Pirelli DIABLO™ Superbike tyresin cooler temperatures than anticipated.

Pirelli Overview

Pirelli were pleased to see a second consecutive BSB lap record at the Snetterton 300 circuit in the introductory year of the production Pirelli DIABLO™ Superbike17” tyres.

During the free practice sessions riders again experimented with the SC0 and SC1 Pirelli rear compounds to ascertain which tyre would offer the best performance over race distance. Byrne set his ultra fast pole position time using the SC0 softer option whilst Brookes found enough grip with the harder SC1 tyre.

Despite high temperatures in the build up, race day was much cooler with just 28 degrees reading on the track surface. This had a significant effect on tyre choice as the softer, super grippy SC0 never really came into its operating window, meaning the vast majority of the grid opted for the SC1 tyre, with the exception of Ducati Panigale mounted Jakub Smrz and Mark Farmer. At the front end every single rider chose the softer SC1 tyre.

There was some exciting racing throughout the support classes as the latest Pirelli DIABLO™ SupercorsaSC tyres gave riders the confidence to push until the end of Motorpoint Supersport, Pirelli National Superstock 1000 and 600 Championships and TriStar Triple Challenge.

As part of their ongoing outreach programme, Pirelli again hosted over 20 members of local motorcycle clubs and organisations. Visitors were treated to hospitality at the Ace Cafe, an insight into Pirelli’s activities at BSB plus a guided paddock tour. MCE Insurance mascot Big Ed also showed his tyre changing skills to amused onlookers.


Race Review

Shakey set the pace throughout free practice and qualifying setting a fast time of 1:48.181 on Friday, just outside his own 2011 lap record of 1:48.023. In the three stage qualifying session Byrne really pulled the pin in the final Q3 segment with a devastating 1:47.488 lap for pole position, half a second quicker than Josh Brookes.

Race one saw a first corner melee as Smrz, Julien Da Costa and Wilson crashed out, followed shortly after by Michael Rutter. After three pace car laps Byrne controlled the race as behind him usual suspects Brookes and James Ellison battled for second. Byrne eked out a comfortable lead but right at the end of the race Brookes closed to within the back of his rear Pirelli before running into the dirt and having to again fight for his runner-up slot with Ellison.

Race two saw Brookes lead for the first time as he holeshotted but made an early mistake to be taken by Byrne and his Milwaukee Yamaha teammate Tommy Bridewell. A determined Brookes quickly returned to second and broke the lap record on laps five and six (1:47.882). A battle royale ensued between the two big rivals before Brookes got on the gas a little too early at Montreal, launching him into the air and out of the race. Shakey took a comfortable win from Ellison and Bridewell.

Pirelli View

Pirelli UK Racing Manager Jason Griffiths commented, “The Snetterton weekend saw an increase in use of the SC0 solution during the Superbike free practice sessions due to the high track temperatures we experienced. It was interesting to see the teams adjust their machine settings to benefit from the additional grip level provided by the softer solution while ensuring durability was not overly compromised. The lower temperatures brought the SC1 into race use and Josh Brookes set another lap record. Congratulations to Graeme Gowland for establishing a new Supersport lap record during Saturday’s race using the Diablo Supercorsa in SC1 compound.”


MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship, Snetterton

Race one result:

1.Shane Byrne (Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki)

2.Josh Brookes (Milwaukee Yamaha) +4.133s

3.James Ellison (Lloyds British GBmoto Racing Kawasaki) +4.882s

4.Tommy Bridewell (Milwaukee Yamaha) +6.839s

5.Ryuichi Kiyonari (Buildbase BMW) +12.073s

6.Chris Walker (Lloyds British GBmoto Racing Kawasaki) +19.202s


Race two result:

1.Shane Byrne (Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki)

2.James Ellison (Lloyds British GBmoto Racing Kawasaki) +2.164s

3.Tommy Bridewell (Milwaukee Yamaha) +3.631s

4.Ryuichi Kiyonari (Buildbase BMW) +9.210s

5.Julien Da Costa (Honda Racing) +13.509s

6.Dan Linfoot (Quattro Plant Kawasaki) +17.539s


Championship standings:

1 Shane Byrne (Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki) 145

2 James Ellison (Lloyds British GBmoto Racing Kawasaki) 100

3 Josh Brookes (Milwaukee Yamaha) 85

4 Tommy Bridewell (Milwaukee Yamaha) 69

5 Dan Linfoot (Quattro Plant Kawasaki) 51

6 Chris Walker (Lloyds British GBmoto Racing Kawasaki) 49


Showing their support for the series, Pirelli offer customers who purchase a set of DIABLO™ Supercorsa SP, DIABLO ROSSO™ Corsa, DIABLO ROSSO™ II, DIABLO™, ANGEL™ GT, ANGEL™ ST, SCORPION™ Trail, the chance to claim a free BSB ticket. More details at


More information regarding Pirelli’s entire range of racing and road tyres can be found at

You can also follow Pirelli in British Superbikes and beyond on Facebook at ‘Pirelli Moto’ !

For more circuit and BSB information visit

For more information:

Harley Stephens (Holeshot PR) +44 7943 059985    

Jim Worland                          +44 7974 153509