Each year, the Pirelli Photography Awards are presented to Automobile Journalists Association of Canada (AJAC) members honoring the best in automobile photographs. In previous years, the categories only consisted of published and unpublished photos, but this year’s new ‘Elite’ category honors repeating winners from previous years.

Having created one of the world’s most iconic photographic traditions, photography is strong part of the Pirelli culture. The Pirelli Calendar was launched in 1963 from Pirelli’s London office as a gift for privileged customers; its concept a spin-off on the pin-up popular with automobile manufacturers. But the subtlety of its images and the quality of its photographers made the calendar a coveted collector’s item.

Each year the large field of entries is judged by three of Canada’s leading photographers. The judges for the award are prominent photographers including Cam Hutchins from British Columbia, Pierre Charbonneau of Quebec and Ian Brown of Ontario, all highly regarded professionals and award winners in their field. The judging is done anonymously with the photographer’s name hidden on each entry.

Presenting this year’s awards were Rafael Navarro, Pirelli Tire’s Vice President of Communications, Media Relations and Motorsports for the NAFTA region and Orazio Mastracchio, Marketing & Product Manager of Pirelli Tire. The first ever Elite category award went to Amee Reehal from Calgary and runner-up to Russell Purcell, both repeat winners.

Winner in the Unpublished Category – which gives photographers considerable license in the work – was Shaun Keenan of Oakville, Ontario with Thomas Dale Amy of Lynden Ontario as runner up.

In the Published Category the top prize went to Marc Lachapelle of Longueuil, Quebec with Mark Richardson of Coburg, Ontario capturing the runner up prize.

Winners in all three categories received a set of Pirelli tires and a copy of the very coveted Pirelli calendar.