Pirelli has supported the GP3 Series - a one-make single-seater championship launched as a feeder series for the GP2 Series – since its inception in 2010, marking Pirelli’s return to the top flight of single-seater racing before supplying GP2 and F1 from 2011.

Designed to nurture young driving talent for GP2, the GP3 Series follows the same principles: identical car with single chassis, engine and tyre provider. Technical regulations are strict and tightly controlled to ensure a level playing field. Racing with identical cars and set-ups, it is the driver’s ability and the engineering prowess of the competing teams that make the difference.

All the GP3 tyre compounds are specifically created to help provide even more exciting races. Pirelli supplies the GP3 Series with three types of P Zero slick tyre (hard, medium and soft) – one type of which is nominated for each race weekend – and one pattern of wet weather tyre. Each car has four sets of dry tyres and two sets of wets per weekend, if needed, at its disposal.

Tyre sizes are 250/575-13 at the front and 290/590-13 at the rear.

Apart from being very versatile, the latest evolution of GP3 P Zero tyres are well adapted to the changing demands of difficult racing conditions, like variable track temperatures, high top speeds and downforce, as well as a wide range of lateral and longitudinal loadings.

The 2017 GP3 calendar is made up of eight rounds, seven of which taking place over the same race weekends of the Formula One Grand Prix, again starting at Barcelona in May and finishing at Abu Dhabi in November.

2017 calendar

  • 1
    Barcelona: May 12/14
  • 2
    Spielberg: July 7/9
  • 3
    Silverstone: July 14/16
  • 4
    Budapest: July 28/30
  • 5
    Spa-Francorchamps: August 25/27
  • 6
    Monza: September 1/3
  • 7
    Jerez de la Frontera: October 6/8
  • 8
    Yas Marina: November 24/26