A sold-out crowd of 39,505 gathered at Sam Boyd Stadium in Las Vegas, Nev. this weekend for the final round of the 2012 Monster Energy AMA Supercross Series. In a tight points battle for second place, team JGRMX/ Toyota/ Yamaha’s Davi Millsaps rode on Pirelli’s Scorpion MX family of tires to close out what would be Pirelli’s best season in Supercross.

Both Millsaps and teammate Gavin Faith began the evening in the first heat race,where Millsaps led the pack from gate drop to checkers. Faith went down while in a transfer position, but was able to win the Last Chance Qualifier (LCQ) for an opportunity to compete in the main event. Millsaps fought just outside the top five early on, with Faith working his way up from the rear. By lap seven, Millsaps found himself in podium position, which he maintained through the end of the race. This was his fifth podium finish for the season. Faith earned 14th overall.

“I am ecstatic to see Davi earn his career best finish in the AMA Supercross Championship with our brand, said Josh Whitmire, Pirelli North America Off Road Manager. “Davi has played a major role developing the new Scorpion MX/SX tires since he joined the JGR MX team in 2010, and to see him give Pirelli our best overall finish in the AMA Championship one year later is extra special to our group. As we move forward we wish Davi and the whole JGR MX Team the best of luck.”

The next race for Team JGRMX/ Toyota/ Yamaha will be the Lucas Oil AMA NationalChampionship season opener, the Hangtown Classic in Sacramento, Calif. on May 19. Fuel TV will air the event live at 4:00 p.m. (EST).

POS. # Name Bike Overall POS Points
1 5 Ryan Dungey KTM 450 SX-F 3 257
2 18 David Millsaps Yamaha YZ450F 2 266
3 10 Justin Brayton Honda CRF450 3 257
4 21 Jake Weimer Kawasaki KX450F 5 229
5 33 Joshua Grant Kawasaki KX450F 17 90
6 50 Nico Izzi Yamaha YZ450F 22 46
7 800 Mike Alessi Suzuki RM-Z450 6 206
8 54 Weston Peick Kawasaki KX450F 15 99
9 29 Andrew Short Honda CRF450 13 126
10 27 Nicholas Wey Kawasaki KX450F 14 116
11 25 Broc Tickle Kawasaki KX450F 9 171
12 82 Justin Sipes Kawasaki KX450F 20 61
13 47 Chris Blose Kawasaki KX450F 28 29
14 617 Gavin Faith Yamaha YZ450F 23 38
15 74 Tyler Bowers Kawasaki KX450F 32 22
16 66 Jason Thomas Suzuki RM-Z450 34 21
17 124 Ryan Clark Kawasaki KX450F 37 11
18 24 Brett Metcalfe Suzuki RM-Z450 8 177
19 87 Matthew Goerke Suzuki RM-Z450 19 76
20 36 Kyle Regal Kawasaki KX450F 25 35