The tenth round of the 2012 Monster Energy AMA Supercross Championships found a muddy welcome in Daytona, Florida where rain showers pummeled the Daytona International Speedway infield throughout the day and into the main event. Historically one of the toughest tracks of the season, Daytona also proved to be the most successful for Pirelli and team JGRMX/ Toyota/ Yamaha this season. James ‘Bubba’ Stewart finished with a 15-second lead to claim his second win of the season.

Competing on a track oversaturated with water, James ‘Bubba’ Stewart won on a Pirelli Scorpion MXS rear and Scorpion PRO front tires while his teammate Davi Millsaps took home second on a Pirelli Scorpion MXMS front and MXS rear combo, both confident in the consistent performance of Pirelli’s Scorpion MX family of tires even under these toughest of conditions. The two teammates easily advanced from their heats, placing first and second, respectively.

In the main event, Millsaps secured the holeshot, followed closely by Stewart. The duo swapped leads on lap three and remained in first and second until the checkered flag waved at lap 16. “Pirelli has had so many great successes here in Daytona, and this year’s Supercross race win is just one more element we add back to our racing DNA,” declared Chris Wall, Director of Marketing for Pirelli Moto.

This is Stewart’s second win of the season and Millsaps’ first podium. “I felt good all day,” commented Stewart. “I was fast in practice and we got a [good] start. Those Pirelli tires were awesome out there. Once I got out front I pulled a lead and just tried to survive.”

Millsaps chimed in from the podium: “I had a good week riding at my house and it was a good race. I can’t thank JGRMX/Toyota/Yamaha enough, I also want to thank Ezra (Lusk), my mechanic Ben, my trainer Pablo, my wife, O’neal, Sidi, Oakley, Pirelli, just everyone – thanks.”

This win places Stewart just 15 points shy of second place Ryan Dungey, who is currently out with a shoulder injury. Millsaps advances to sixth overall in the series.

Round 11 of the Monster Energy AMA Supercross Championship will be held March 17 at Lucas Oil Stadium in Indianapolis, Ind. The event will air live on SPEED at 7:30 p.m. (EST). FUEL TV will broadcast the re-cap from Indianapolis at 8:00 p.m. (EST) on March 11.

POS. # Name Bike Overall POS Points
1 7 James Stewart Yamaha YZ450F 3 177
2 18 David Millsaps Yamaha YZ450F 6 131
3 14 Kevin Windham Honda CRF450R 4 143
4 38 Marvin Musquin KTM 350 SX-F 18 30
5 1 Ryan Villopoto Kawasaki KX450F 1 221
6 800 Mike Alessi Suzuki RM-Z450 10 113
7 21 Jake Weimer Kawasaki KX450F 5 134
8 25 Broc Tickle Kawasaki KX450F 13 82
9 87 Matthew Goerke Suzuki RM-Z450 16 38
10 24 Brett Metcalfe Suzuki RM-Z450 8 124
11 27 Nicholas Wey Kawasaki KX450F 14 76
12 11 Kyle Chisholm Kawasaki KX450F 11 91
13 36 Kyle Regal Honda CRF-450 30 8
14 617 Gavin Faith Honda CRF 450 24 15
15 82 Justin Sipes Kawasaki KX450F 23 18
17 10 Justin Brayton Honda CRF450 9 121
18 34 Cole Seely Honda CRF450 21 21
19 54 Weston Peick Kawasaki KX450F 20 27
20 81 Robert Kiniry Yamaha YZ450F 17 32