James Stewart Finishes Second and Davi Milsaps Seventh in Main Event

A record crowd was on hand for the second time at Angel Stadium this season for round five of the Monster Energy AMA Supercross Championship series. On the heels of his first main event win last week in Oakland, James “Bubba” Stewart started the night in spectacular form with a hole-shot in his heat race and stretched out a commanding lead through lap 3 when he suffered a hard crash as he skipped through the whoop section forcing him to race in the last chance qualifier (LCQ) which he later won convincingly. Teammate Davi Milsaps also experienced trouble in his heat race falling in a corner while leading but was able to remount and finish in a qualifying position for the main event.

The main event start was complicated for both riders as their positions were less than ideal, however, both were able to get through the first corner and start charging toward the front.  Stewart was running third mid-way through the main event when he caught and passed Chad Reed setting his eyes on race leader Ryan Villapoto who had checked out while the field battled one another. Villapoto opened up too large of a margin and a banged up Stewart came home second while Milsaps finished seventh, marking the second main event podium for Pirelli with Stewart in 2012.

Stewart elected to run a Pirelli Scorpion MXMH Prototype front and a rear Pirelli Scorpion MX eXTra while Milsaps chose to run Pirelli Scorpion MXMH front and Pirelli Scorpion MXMS rear.  “We’re quite pleased with the results we are getting and how things are progressing”, stated Josh Whitmire Pirelli’s off road racing manager.  “The feedback has been great and I look forward to getting some more testing done this week before San Diego.”

With twelve rounds remaining in this year’s Monster Energy AMA Supercross Championship series, Stewart is currently fourth in series points with Millsaps trailing in ninth.

Round six of the Monster Energy AMA Supercross Championship will be held Feb. 11 at Qualcomm Stadium in San Diego, Calif. The event will air live on SPEED at 10:30 p.m. (EST).

POS. # Name Bike Qualified Points
1 1 Ryan Villopoto Kawasaki KX450F 2 108
2 7 James Stewart Yamaha YZ450F 19 95
3 22 Chad Reed Honda CRF450 3 105
4 5 Ryan Dungey KTM 450 SX-F 1 103
5 10 Justin Brayton Honda CRF450 4 53
6 14 Kevin Windham Honda CRF450R 8 73
7 18 David Millsaps Yamaha YZ450F 10 56
8 800 Mike Alessi Suzuki RM-Z450 6 51
9 24 Brett Metcalfe Suzuki RM-Z450 16 57
10 25 Broc Tickle Kawasaki KX450F 9 41
11 21 Jake Weimer Kawasaki KX450F 12 71
12 11 Kyle Chisholm Kawasaki KX450F 14 43
13 27 Nicholas Wey Kawasaki KX450F 17 24
14 29 Andrew Short Honda CRF450R 5 59
15 54 Weston Peick Kawasaki KX450F 18 16
16 83 Kyle Partridge Honda CRF450R 11 15
17 82 Justin Sipes Kawasaki KX450F 15 4
18 48 Jimmy Albertson Suzuki RM-Z450 20 7
19 801 Jeff Alessi Suzuki RM-Z450 13 2
20 100 Joshua Hansen Kawasaki KX450F 7 48

Pirelli Tire North America designs, develops, manufactures and markets tires for passenger vehicles in both the original equipment and replacement markets as well as markets and distributes tires for motorcycles and motorsports. Located in Rome, Georgia, Pirelli’s Modular Integrated Robotized System (MIRS) employs state-of-the-art technology to manufacture tires for both export and domestic markets.  For more information please visit www.us.pirelli.com.