The treacherous Swedish terrain of Uddevalla was the site of the eighth round of fifteen in the FIM Motocross World Championship this weekend.  The mixture of loose soil and hard-pack terrain proved the proficiency of Pirelli tires with two overall victories and wins in all four motos.

Frenchman Steven Frossard owned MX1 while German Ken Roczen aced MX2. The Grand Prix of Sweden was another powerful assertion of the capabilities of the Scorpion MX in particular as the rubber has dominated the first half of the 2011 season. The midway point of the MX1 series was marked by domination from the works Yamaha, finishing ahead of Evgeny Bobryshev and Honda while third-position was enough for KTM’s Tony Cairoli to take the lead in the championship standings.  Clement Desalle had a bad day and was weakened by a shoulder injury while competing in Belgium last week.
A 1-1 moto score in MX2 saw Roczen beat team-mate Jeffrey Herlings and Gautier Paulin, increasing his lead in the points table. The day also saw strong performances from Max Anstie (finishing 4th) and Christophe Charlier (5th).
Racing Service Manager Giovanni Gatti was thrilled with the results throughout the Grand Prix and also the second position overall in the European 125 two-stroke competition obtained by Simone Zecchina who maintains his advantage at the top of the championship. “The special build, strength and traction of the MidSoft 32 benefitted the Pirelli riders here and this was evident in the results,” said the technician from Milan. “The combination of the skills of the riders with the potential of the tires we put at their disposal left no options for the competition, and thankfully this has been the case from the very start of the season.”
The next FIM MX round will take place on the tenth of July at Teutschenthal, west of the city of Leipzig in eastern Germany.
Overall Classification: 
1. Steven Frossard Yamaha Monster Energy Yamaha
2. Evgeny Bobryshev Honda Honda World Motocross
3. Antonio Cairoli KTM Red Bull Teka KTM
Championship standings:
1. Antonio Cairoli KTM p. 322
3. Clement Desalle Suzuki p. 312
3. Steve Frossard Yamaha p. 300
Overall Classification 
1. Ken Roczen KTM Red Bull Teka KTM
2. Jeffrey Herlings KTM Red Bull Teka KTM
3. Gautier Paulin Yamaha Monster Energy Yamaha
Championship standings: 
1. Ken Roczen KTM p. 351
2. Jeffrey Herlings KTM p. 337
3. Tommy Searle Kawasaki p. 286
Pirelli Tire North America designs, develops, manufactures and markets tires for passenger vehicles in both the original equipment and replacement markets as well as markets and distributes tires for motorcycles and motorsports. Located in Rome, Georgia, Pirelli’s Modular Integrated Robotized System (MIRS) employs state-of-the-art technology to manufacture tires for both export and domestic markets.  For more information please visit
For further information please contact:
Christopher Wall, Director of Marketing, Motorcycle Division