• Share to Facebook
  • Share to Twitter

Pirelli disappointed but confirms asphalt potential

The two Peugeots driven by Panizzi and Delecour to 1st and 2nd
place respectively dominated the Sanremo Rally, allowing the French
Manufacturers to be the new World Championship leader.

Richard Burns’ retirement from 3rd place during Leg 2 was a big
disappointment for Pirelli but the Subaru driver had already
provided a great deal of useful information about the latest
developments to Pirelli’s range of PZero asphalt tyres.

Intensive development work after a strong performance in
Catalunya led to Burns being highly competitive both in Corsica and
San Remo. The team now has fresh inspiration and new ideas for next
season’s asphalt events where Subaru and Pirelli’s new partners,
Ford, will see the benefit.

San Remo was the final asphalt event of the year. The
championship goes now to Australia and Great Britain for two of
Pirelli’s strongest events and Burns remains confident that he can
still fight for the World Rally Crown.

The Group N battle in San Remo was incredibly close with
Mitsubishi-Pirelli drivers completely dominant. Gianluigi Galli
eventually beat Alex Fiorio to take a third successive San Remo
Group N win while third and fourth places were taken by the two
drivers chasing this season’s World Championship, Gustavo Trelles
(the current World Champion) and Manfred Stohl (the championship

FINAL STANDINGS (after 17 SSs totally):

1. Panizzi (Peugeot), 3h52m07.3;2. Delecour (Peugeot) +16.8; 3.
Makinen (Mitsubishi) +53.0 ; 4. Gronholm (Peugeot) +1m02.3; 5.
Sainz (Ford) + 1m11.3; 6. McRae (Ford) +1m40.0; 7. Jean-Joseph
(Subaru-Pirelli) +1m56.7 ; 8. Loix (Mitsubishi) +2m23.0 ; 9.
Solberg (Subaru-Pirelli) +2m31.7; . . .



1. Gronholm pt.49; 2. Burns 44; 3. McRae and Sainz 43; 5. Makinen
32; 6. Panizzi 21; 7. Delecour 19; 8. Kankkunen 18; 9. Rovanpera 7;
9. Solberg 6; 10. Auriol, Loix and Arai 4; 13. Gardemeister and
Radstrom 3; . . .

1. Peugeot pt.90; 2. Ford 88; 3.
Subaru-Pirelli 70; 4. Mitsubishi 39; 5. Skoda and SEAT-Pirelli 8;
7. Hyundai 5

Group N:

1. Stohl pt.61; 2. Trelles 54; 3. Pozzo 22; 4. Paasonen 21; 5.
Menzi 16


Australia (gravel), 9-12 November

Sanremo (Italy), October 22, 2000