• Share to Facebook
  • Share to Twitter

Pirelli, Burns & Subaru stay in command

Richard Burns, Subaru and Pirelli continue to lead the World
Rally Championship after a dramatic Acropolis Rally saw the title
hopes of many drivers take a pounding from the Greek roads and few
escaped without problems. After three dominant wins already this
year and with an unbroken finishing record on all events,
Subaru-Pirelli’s championship lead is intact after Juha Kankkunen’s
3rd place in Greece.

Equally, Burns was already 14 points ahead in the Drivers’
series and, despite the disappointment of having to retire (turbo
failure) from the event today, is still far enough ahead that he
will still lead the championship even after next month’s New
Zealand Rally where Burns is again expected to start as favourite
for victory.

During the event the Pirelli-equipped Subaru and SEAT teams used
the full range of PZero tyres in both XR and K pattern and in the
very latest evolution. On the rocky roads the drivers were able to
rely completely on the performance of the EMI anti-deflation

Pirelli again dominated the GroupN podium with Gabriele Pozzo
winning from Gustavo Trelles and Manfred Stohl (all

FINAL STANDINGS (19 SSs totally):

1. McRae-Ringer (Ford), 4h56m54.8; 2. Sainz (Ford) +23.1; 3.
Kankkunen (Subaru-Pirelli) + 7m40.8; 4. Arai (Subaru-Pirelli)
+7.47.9; 5. Schwarz (Skoda) +9m11.0; 6. Backhashab (Toyota)
+12m54.9; 7. Richelmi (Subaru-Pirelli) +13m33.3



1. Burns pt.38; 2. Gronholm and McRae 24; 4. Makinen and Sainz 23;
6. Kankkunen 18; 7. Auriol, Loix, Solberg e Arai 4; . .
.Manufacturers: 1. Subaru-Pirelli pt.58; 2. Ford 47; 3. Peugeot 31;
4. Mitsubishi 29; 5. Skoda 8; 6. SEAT-Pirelli 7; 7. Hyundai
1GrouoN: 1. Stohl pt.31; 2. Trelles 28; 3. Pozzo 16; 4. Campos 13;
5. Menzi 12.

Next World Championship event: New Zealand (gravel),
13-16 July

Itea (Greece), June 11, 2000